Rail transport in South Africa

  • 1905
    founded 1905 (locomotive personnel)
    SAFSA 1976
  • 1924
    founded 1924 (skilled artisans)
    TWU 1993 (open to all)

Merger talks

The South African Footplate Staff Association (SAFSA) and Technical Workers Union (TWU) merged to form what was known as UTATU – United Transport and Allied Trade Union.

UTATU merged with SARWHU to form UTATU SARWHU with effect from 22 June 2012.
The Union’s name changed from UTATU SARWHU to United National Transport Union (UNTU). The Registrar of Labour approved the name change with effect from 1 November 2014.